Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers won the 2011 American League Most Valuable Player Award receiving 13 of the 28 first-place votes. In all, six different players received a first place vote showing how wide-open the field was.

Three Rays were represented in the voting, with Evan Longoria receiving the most attention with his tenth place finish. He received two fourth place votes and was named on eight different ballots. Ben Zobrist finished 16th, receiving two votes, including one fifth-place vote. And James Shields finished 18th, appearing on six ballots. However, his highest vote was a single ninth place vote.

This was the third time that three Rays received votes in the MVP voting. It is the fourth straight year that Longoria has received votes and the second time in Zobrist’s career.

  • 2011 — Evan Longoria (10th), Ben Zobrist (16th), James Shields (18th)
  • 2010 — Evan Longoria (6th), Carl Crawford (7th), Rafael Soriano (12th)
  • 2009 — Ben Zobrist (8th), Evan Longoria (19th)
  • 2008 — Carlos Pena (9th), Evan Longoria (11th), Jason Bartlett (18th)
  • 2007 — Carlos Pena (9th)
  • 2006 — Carl Crawford (26th)
  • 2005 — Jorge Cantu (27th)
  • 2003 — Aubrey Huff (24th)

Here are the voting results…



  1. Sledge says:

    Come on. Again with Robertson? Beth must be right. His cousin is a voter tossing him a bone.

  2. BullDog says:

    Robertson? Really... Does he have some sort of contract incentive that he split with the writer who voted for him?


Leave a Comment