The Fielding Bible Awards, which are voted on by 10 panelists including Peter Gammons and Bill James, and generally does a better job of recognizing the best defenders at each position than the Gold Glove Awards, were announced yesterday.

Evan Longoria was named the top defensive third baseman in all baseball. He previously finished second in 2008 and fourth last year. This year he beat out Ryan Zimmerman by a single point.

In a bit of an upset, Brett Gardner beat out Carl Crawford, a three-time winner, for the Fielding Bible Award in left field. Crawford won the award in 2006, 2008 and 2009 and finished second in 2007. The irony of Gardner winning the award is that many feel that Gardner proved enough in 2010 that the Yankees will not pursue Crawford on the free agency market this winter.

The rest of the winners…

  • First Base – Daric Barton, OAK
  • Second Base – Chase Utley, PHI
  • Shortstop – Troy Tulowitzki, OAK
  • Center Field – Michael Bourn, HOU
  • Right Field – Ichiro Suzuki, SEA
  • Catcher – Yadier Molina, STL
  • Pitcher – Mark Buehrle, CHW


  1. SeanDubbs says:

    Still don't see how Gammons had Matt Holliday ahead of Crawford.

  2. Sarah says:

    In the Times, Gammon is quoted as saying he thinks Crawford is the best left fielder in baseball, but ranked him way down anyway. What's up with Gammons? Then again, he's the guy who claims that more people in the Tampa Bay area listen to Yankees than to Rays broadcasts, so his judgment is suspect.


Leave a Comment