Baseball America today announced that Jeremy Hellickson has been named their minor league player of the year. Hellickson was 12-3 with an International League-leading 2.45 ERA in 25 starts. He struck out 123 and walked 35 in 117.2 innings.

He joins Rocco Baldelli (2002) and Delmon Young (2005) as the third Rays prospect to win the award. Hellickson is the fifth pitcher to win the award in the last 20 years. The other four were Rick Ankiel (1999), Jon Rauch (2000), Josh Beckett (2001) and Jeff Francis (2004).



  1. brian h says:

    is it fair to say that it is rare for pitchers to win this award because most times they are brought up to the majors?

  2. Gatorbuc15 says:

    Congratulations Jeremy!!!!
    You deserve it man!

  3. Don says:

    Send a copy of this to Maddon, The kids our 2nd or 3rd best pitcher and not playing!..Maddon will ride Shields, Niemann and Davis right into the dirt.....

  4. Dew says:

    Good for him. Now we just need to put him back in the rotation and rest Neiman until he gets his mojo back.

  5. Gus says:

    Hellickson looks uncomfortable coming in with guys on and pitching out of the stretch.
    We may need him to start a few down the stretch.


Leave a Comment