For the second consecutive season Carlos Pena has finished 9th in the American League MVP voting. Dustin Pedroia of the Boston Red Sox took home the award with 16 of the 28 first place votes. Evan Longoria and Jason Bartlett each received votes. Longoria placed 11th after being named the unanimous winner of the AL Rookie of the Year award. Bartlett, who was named the Rays’ team MVP, finished 18th.

Pena received a single third place vote and appeared on 13 of the 28 ballots. Longoria’s highest votes were two sixth place votes and he appeared on 12 ballots. Bartlett received a single 5th place vote, the only ballot he appeared on.

Pena’s 9th place showing in 2007 was the highest finish in the MVP voting in franchise history. The previous high was Aubrey Huff, who finished 24th in 2003. Carl Crawford finished 26th in 2006 and Jorge Cantu finished 27th in 2005, the only other Rays to receive MVP consideration.

Pedroia named AL MVP [MLB]
Carlos Pena 9th Most Valuable American Leaguer [Rays Index]



You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Comment