USATSI_9232609_154511044_lowres

The Rays picked up their first win of the season on Tuesday night when an error that led to the go-ahead runs for the Blue Jays was overturned and changed to a game-ending double-play (see video here).

After looking at the replay, umpires determined that Jose Bautista had reached out with his left hand and interfered with Logan Forsythe as he was trying to turn the double-play.

After the game, Bautista tried to justify his slide by suggesting he let Forsythe off easy by not hurting him.

“Common sense has to come into this,” Bautista said after the game (via Marc Topkin). “I feel like I slid directly at bag. I could have done much worse and chose not to.”

In other words, according to Bautista, it is only interference if he breaks the guy’s leg.

Cool story, bro.

Likes(2)Dislikes(2)
 
 

8 Comments

  1. Brian says:

    Drill him in the back today

    Likes(2)Dislikes(0)
  2. Nathan says:

    This is where I would like to see a beat reporter ask the prima donna WHY he reached out to grab Forsythe's foot. That's football, not baseball.

    Likes(4)Dislikes(0)
  3. Geoff Peterson says:

    If he slid directly at the bag how come he wasn't touching the bag when he completed his slide? But at least he gets credit for the sack.

    Likes(2)Dislikes(0)
  4. angry buddha says:

    New slide rule or not, it seems unsporting to reach out an grab a fielder's ankle. Common sense says that ought not be allowed & Bautista was caught in a bush-league moment.

    On the other hand, a few moments earlier, we saw great sportsmanship from Encarnacion. Remember when Jeter faked getting hit by a pitch & was awarded 1st base? EE did the exact opposite in the 9th last night - he actively & emphatically called off his dugout from replaying or arguing that the pitch high & inside may have hit him. Good for him.

    He also seemed to have a balanced reaction when the umpired reversed the call & gave us the game. Seems like a guy you could root for... when he's not playing the Rays.

    Likes(4)Dislikes(0)
    • Geoff Peterson says:

      In addition to unsportsmanlike, he also could have tugged his ankle hard enough that he faceplanted and lost a few teeth or worse.

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  5. Brent says:

    Finally, TimmyB is in the line-up today, where he should stay...

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Comment