You can see a full breakdown of what happened and what went wrong over at BI Sports. But let’s focus on Major League Baseball’s explanation for why it happened (via CBSSports.com).
“An error was made when replay officials and supervisors mistakenly thought one of the pitches was a foul ball when it was actually a ball.”
This is seemingly what also happened to the home plate umpire on the 2-1 pitch when Escobar check his swing. But there is also a huge problem with this.
If they indeed thought Escobar fouled the pitch off, why didn’t the replay official rule Escobar had already struck out since there was a foul ball earlier AND a called strike immediately after the pitch in question?
My guess is that the replay umpire in New York not only mistakenly called the pitch a foul ball but also failed to review the rest of the pitches and just assumed that one pitch was the only one in question.
So in the end, Major League Baseball and their umpires screwed up the count (twice), messed up the replay (twice), and flubbed their explanation.
Good try, good effort.