David DeJesusHere is the lineup for opening day.

  1. David DeJesus, LF
  2. Wil Myers, RF
  3. Ben Zobrist, 2B
  4. Evan Longoria, 3B
  5. James Loney, 1B
  6. Desmond Jennings, CF
  7. Matt Joyce, DH
  8. Jose Molina, C
  9. Yunel Escobar, SS
  10. David Price, SP

It should look familiar. All ten players were on the roster last year.

In fact, the nine batters in the lineup started four games together last year although never in this particular order.

The closest came on September 16 against the Rangers when Dejesus led off and the top five batters were all the same albeit in a different order. Joyce and Jennings hit sixth and seventh, respectively and Molina and Escobar were in the same spots.



  1. Mr. Smith 1980 says:

    With the exception of SloMo I love it!! Super stoked for tomorrow.

  2. Mr. Smith 1980 says:


    I'm surprised that you haven't posted in regard to the new MLBAM (MLB Advanced Media). I just stumbled on to a story and am blown away! Can't wait until it's up and ready at all 30 parks!

  3. Dave L says:

    This looks like the ideal 2014 vs RHP lineup featuring alternating L-R-L order through the first 8 hitters. Price with his favored battery mate, nothing more than that.

    Finally Escobar as the second lead off hitter, as the team says. Although I never could grasp that concept, its their rationale. I suppose its more to do with preferring to have an Escobar on base than a path clogging Molina should Jennings come up with the fortune of a base runner.


Leave a Comment