Samuel Deduno of the Twins was all set to start the fourth inning when he decided he wasn’t ready. So instead of throwing a pitch, he decided to play a little game of catch…with himself.

It’s like he was back in his backyard throwing flyballs to himself all over again…

Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
 
 

7 Comments

  1. Beth says:

    But at what point is something like that actually a pitch? What if it had fallen three feet in front of him -- would that have counted as a pitched ball?

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  2. Mr. Smith 1980 says:

    Maybe this is an ignorant statement, but I thought it was a balk... odd.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Scot says:

      No base runners at the time. It wasn't even a pitch.

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
      • Mr. Smith 1980 says:

        Yeah, I get it, but it was a far more egregious maneuver than most called balks... I know it doesn't fit into the balk rules, but there should be something... what if the pitcher does that and for some reason the batter swings? They should call it a pitch and it should be a ball, or if there were runners then it should be covered under the umbrella of a balk... IMO.

        Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  3. Ken says:

    I think a pitcher can only be called for a balk when there is a runner on base. The idea is the pitcher can't gain an advantage by trying to fake out baserunners. The pitcher can't fake out the batter when pitching to him.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Comment