The getaway game was as ugly as it gets. Jeff Niemann pitched like Joe thought Wade Davis would have last night, and the Rays were toast in the third inning.

Then, like dangling ice cream in front of a dieting sorority chick, the Rays served up Andy Sonnanstine as dessert to the Angels. The drool was flowing. … If Joe were into wacked out conspiracy theories, he might think Sonnanstine doesn’t mind getting lit up in long relief, as it might only help him get a ticket out of town and a starting job somewhere else.

In a festive mood and now waiting to bury the Sox, Joe’s got to celebrate the almost-got-him play at third base by Willy Aybar. Barehanding a cue-ball shot to third base and nearly throwing out Hideki Matsui? Joe didn’t think he had it in him.

Joe also liked John Jaso going with a pitch in the ninth inning for his third hit, rather than tyring to jack his second home run. That kind of discipline is what the Rays will need when it counts.

Yeah, Joe’s reaching, but that’s what you do in a blowout to end a 4-3 West Coast trip. It’s hard to be annoyed.

And Joe learned something new with the passed ball turned fielder’s choice. Joe still doesn’t get it. Does anyone?

 
 

3 Comments

  1. Gatorbuc15 says:

    Well that didn’t turn out like I was hoping it would, but the good thing is that was only one game. I’m not mad at Jeff for the simple fact that it was his first start in almost a month, so he was probably quite rusty today. I doubt he’ll look nearly that bad in his next start. Besides a couple of Rays player’s having good at bats, and playing good defense, there just isn’t too much else you can say about today’s game.
    Nice post Joe. I hope you get to write about the Rays being victorious on Friday!

    Now, BRING ON THE SOX!

  2. Razzlegator says:

    Joe,
    Official Rules of MLB;

    Rule 10.13 Comment: The official scorer shall not charge a wild pitch or passed ball if the defensive team makes an out before any runners advance. For example, if a pitch touches the ground and eludes the catcher with a runner on first base, but the catcher recovers the ball and throws to second base in time to retire the runner, the official scorer shall not charge the pitcher with a wild pitch. The official scorer shall credit the advancement of any other runner on the play as a fielder’s choice. If a catcher drops a pitch, for example, with a runner on first base, but the catcher recovers the ball and throws to second base in time to retire the runner, the official scorer shall not charge the catcher with a passed ball. The official scorer shall credit the advancement of any other runner on the play as a fielder’s choice.

    If you can make sense of that, there is your answer.

  3. Don says:

    How soon we forget…Aybar was brought in here to be the starting 3rd baseman for the Rays..then along comes Longo…OK… so to the bench goes Willie…
    Then Longo hurts his little pinkie Aug. 2008…Willie takes over 3rd base for a month and hits .300…little or no errors..
    Without Aybar in 2008 (playing 3rd) the Rays would have not made the playoffs/WS…
    Willie leaves here..he is a starter on 80% of ML clubs!

Leave a Comment